Apostille Frequently Asked Questions

Apostille Frequently Asked Questions

Have questions about your project ?

Contact us anytime:


What is an apostille?

Countries belonging to The Hague convention named their international certification “apostille”. An apostille is the legalization of a document for international use. If an apostille from one Hague Convention member country is attached to a person’s birth certificate, marriage certificate, or other legal document and presented to another member country, then no further certification or legalization is required.

Are there different types of apostilles?

There are no other types of apostilles. When you request an apostille on a document, it automatically states that it is part of the Convention of The Hague 1961.

What is The Hague Convention?

In 1961, many nations joined in Hague with the purpose of creating an international agreement on simplifying the acceptance of legal documents, such as marriage certificates and birth certificates worldwide. This group of nations is known as the Hague Convention. They adopted a document referred to as an “apostille” that is internationally recognized by all member nations.

What are the member countries of The Hague Convention?

The 81 States / Regional Economic Integration Organizations listed below have accepted the Statute and are Members of the Hague Conference on Private International Law:

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, China, People’s Republic of, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, Republic of, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia.

What kind of documents need an apostille?

The kind of documents that require an apostille range from powers of attorney, birth certificates, adoption certificates, marriage certificates, divorce decrees, and death certificates, to incorporation papers, corporate documents, school diplomas and transcripts, deeds and wills, agreements, bills of sale, job certifications and other legal papers.

How do I get my documents translated?

To get started with a translation and apostille, first request a quote. Once Day Translations has completed and certified your translation, your certified translation will be notarized and apostilled in the U.S. for use in the foreign country where you will present your documents.

Can you apostille documents for any country in the world?

Yes, we are a certified professional translation company with the ability to translate and apostille your documents for any country in the world.

If I have two documents issued by the same authority, do I need two apostilles?

This is a question that should be directed to the authorities in the country in which the documents will be presented.

What is the turnaround time? When will I have my documents back?

Your documents will be returned to you in an average of 7 business days after Day Translations receives them (the time depends on the type of document and the type of service you require).

What is an Embassy Legalization?

An Embassy Legalization is required when the country where you intend to use your documents is a non-member of the Hague Convention. These include Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea – Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Libya, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zimbabwe.